Japan Quake Appeal Raffle- Closed

Japan has been in my thoughts and prayers over this past week, and I wanted to help in some way, even if small.

So, I’m offering a choice of either a dress and matching pouch or a giant beach bag with surprise goodies up for a raffle/giveaway to help raise donations for disaster relief in Japan. I’m joining with several other bloggers, in cooperation with A Bit of This and a Bit of That.

The winner of the raffle will have a choice between a purple and blue knit dress with a little matching pouch, or an over-sized, green polka-dotted beach bag with surprise goodies inside. The details about how to enter follow the pictures and description.

Option #1: An over-sized beach bag with surprise goodies

 

The bag will be have surprise goodies inside. 🙂

The bag is 17" tall (not including straps) and 21" wide

I made the bag from a vintage curtain panel

 

Option #2: The purple dress and pouch

I made the dress and the pouch from recycled materials using my own designs and patterns. The color combination is one of my favorites.

The dress is made from purple and blue knit materials. The pintucks are stitched with a contrasting blue thread (the same color as the accent pieces and bodice lining).

 

The inside of the dress

All of the dress seams are serged for durability. The dress is stretchy, with elastic in the casing at the waistband. I tried to make it in such a way that it could potentially fit from a small to a large. So, it will fit a size medium best, and fit a size small loosely.

Approximate measurements with dress lying flat and unstretched: bust-17.5”, waist-13.5”, hips-free, length-35”

How to Enter:

– Go to GlobalGiving* and make a donation.

To donate in dollars, please visit this link: http://www.globalgiving.org/

To donate in pounds, use this link: http://www.globalgiving.co.uk/

-Each donation of $5 or 3 pounds entitles you to an entry in the raffle.

-If you’re in US, you can also text JAPAN to 50555 to donate $10 (there is no receipt # for this. So please state in the comment that you’ve made the text donation).

-If there is another group you would like to make your donation through, just let me know in your comment what you’ve done, and provide a receipt # or something to that affect.

-Comment on this post with your receipt number (and/or organization donated to) and fill in a valid email address in the email address section of the comment form/box (so that I can notify the winner). If you don’t see the place to enter your email, you can simply put it in your comment. Once you do this, your name will be entered into the raffle to win this dress and pouch or beach bag with goodies.

-Multiple entries are allowed, but please provide a new receipt number each time.

-The raffle will close at 10:00 pm United States EST on Friday March 25th.

-I will choose the winner at random, and contact them by email to find out which option they’d like to choose and get a mailing address.

Even if the dress or beach bag is not your style or size, maybe you know a family member or friend who would like it. And, If you don’t want to win, I would still encourage you to consider participating. Most of us have $10 to spare.

Please help spread the word about this raffle and/or any of the other raffles being hosted.

A Bit of this and a Bit of That will have a list up on March 19 of all of the raffles being offered up by bloggers around the world.

For those interested, I will probably post about the process of making this dress within the next few days.

*We are in no way affiliated with global giving, that’s just our chosen method of getting funds safely to the affected area.

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in accessories, bag, clothing, diy, dress, giveaway, recycled, sewing, upcycled and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Japan Quake Appeal Raffle- Closed

  1. Pingback: Raffle Update – Two Choices | Verity Clothing

  2. shala_darkstone says:

    Hi, I donated to the American Red Cross. I can send you a copy of my receipt if you like! Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  3. Diane says:

    Count me in!

    I donated 5 pounds via Global Giving:
    Receipt #: R297825-GC794633-CBuk

    Thanks! diane_aoto(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

  4. Jannette says:

    Hello there – I found you through A bit of this and a bit of that; what a great gathering of generous people you all are!

    I donated £6 through global giving – Receipt #: R300172-GC798575-CBuk
    Thank you!

  5. julie says:

    Hi
    I live in Tokyo and vaguely know Jo – we were actually due to meet a couple days after the 11th but sure we will catch up soon
    I donated 10 uk pounds -receipt R 3000173-GC798572
    Thank you for helping

  6. Korey says:

    Great idea. I donated $20 (in two installments)

    Installment one: Receipt #: R300369-GC798891-CBcb01
    Installment two: R300372-GC798899-CBcb01

  7. R Nunes says:

    Thanks Becca.

    Doing as I was told.
    We donated through the Evangelical Free Church.

    Love you, have fun with the new house.
    Aunt Rachel

Comments are closed.