Purple floral dress for my sister

My new sewing machine and I are getting along swimmingly. Oh, we’ve had our share of misunderstandings this first week, but new relationships always require work. 😉 Learning the particulars of a new machine hasn’t allowed me to get too much sewing done this week. However, I do have a dress to share with you, and another on the way.

My youngest sister recently requested that I make her another item of clothing: a dress this time. I obviously couldn’t turn her down, because she is the baby of the family. As many of you surely know, the youngest child/baby/fledgling in the family tends to get whatever they want. 😉

Anyway, I love her and my other three younger sisters to pieces, and I’ve been missing them terribly since moving. So, this was a great way to feel close to them. Even though this dress was only for my youngest sister, making it reminded me of my whole family.

Enough talk about me, let’s move on to the dress.

The dress started out as this big white sack, with cute embroidery and cut outs at the hem and sleeves. I guess it may have been a mini dress, or a tunic. To me, it just seemed really frumpy. It reminded me of a muumuu, except for the length.

I found the dress many months ago, and dyed it, back when I created my Purple Parade Dress for the Burdastyle Remake Challenge.

The dress in the dye bath with the robe that I reconstructed.

If you don’t recall the dress that I’m talking about, here’s a picture of it:

BurdaStyle Remake Challenge dress

Anyway, I set the dress aside and just pulled it out about a week ago.

The dress in its purple form

My sister loves purple, and I thought I would use parts of this dress for her new dress. I don’t have step-by-step pictures of the process, but I do have a few.

I used most of the dress to create the skirt, cutting it just under the neckline trim. I just re-basted the gathers after cutting the skirt, and stitched the lining and outer skirt back together.

For the bodice, I used a sweet white floral knit. There are various shades of purple, pink and peach in the print. Originally when I drafted the pattern, I didn’t plan on gathering in the center of the bust. However, I think it really gives the bodice a cuter shape.

I made little bias strips with the floral knit to trim the raw edge of the old straps. The bias looks much nicer than a simple fold-and-sew edge would have, and it ties the pieces of the dress together better.

The bodice is completely lined with more of the floral material, and the straps are sewn in between the bodice and the lining. After I attached the bodice and lining together, I sewed the lining to the seam allowance (this ensures that the lining stays in place on the inside of the dress).

Once I had finished the bodice, I sewed the bodice and skirt together and added some elastic at the seam. The seams of the dress are all serged for more durability and stretch.

Here is the completed dress.

I wasn’t feeling up to taking pictures today, so I just took some photos of the dress on the dress form. I hope you can forgive me for not wanting to get all dolled up.

I am really happy with the way it turned out, and I think my sister will like it.

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in clothing, diy, dress, fashion, recycled, redo, repurposed, sewing, upcycled and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Purple floral dress for my sister

  1. Rachel Laffoon says:

    I can’t wait to see it on baby sister. haha. very sweet dress, she will love it.

  2. Laurie says:

    I LOVE IT!!! I just can’t wait to get it!!! 😀 thank you so much!! and now my birthday is soon! 😉

  3. nels says:

    wow….that is so good… really pretty

Leave a Reply

