Retro sweater and progress on jacket

I found this vintage sweater quite a while back at the thrift store, and finally got around to fixing the fit. It was quite baggy and unflattering. Sorry, no before picture.

I simply took it in about one and a half inches on each side from the bottom up to the armholes.

No outdoor pictures today. It was rainy and cold.

The pattern and colors in the sweater are pretty retro. It was as though it was screaming out to me in the thrift store.

It goes to show the wonderful vintage goodies to be had at the thrift store. Something as simple as changing the fit of a sweater can take it from boring and frumpy to cute and flirty.

Oh yeah, and I just got my hair cut this afternoon. Yay! I will probably style it differently than the gal did, but it feels great.

Verity Make-up Pouch

I finally made myself one of the make-up pouches I designed, and I wanted to share it.

Confession time: the picture below is of my former make-up pouch (Sad, I know).

I’m ashamed of myself!

Here is what my new pouch looks like. So much better!

I didn’t use interfacing, simply because I wanted it to have softer sides. I used what I had left of a vintage curtain panel that I bought years ago. The print probably seems familiar, because I used part of the print from this vintage curtain to create my Verity logo.

Jacket Progress

I wanted to show everyone that I am making progress on my jacket. The sizing seems somewhat off with this particular Burda pattern. So, I’ve had a few setbacks with the fit, and I’ve had to rework areas of the jacket. It has taken much longer than I’d originally anticipated.

Library

One more thing, I went to the library yesterday and came home with the books below. I was more than a little excited about this trip. I am undoubtedly a complete nerd for being so pumped up about this, but I had to share them.

I could have come home with many more, but I held myself back. There is quite a hodge-podge of subjects in this batch of library books. I am excited to do some reading and some learning.

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in clothing, diy, fashion, indie, recycled, retro, sewing, sweater, thrifted, vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Retro sweater and progress on jacket

  1. Sarah Lewis says:

    Love every bit of it!! You are a wonder!!

  2. Laurie says:

    Love your hair! And I love the pattern for your make-up pouch! 😀

  3. Nice job! Love the make-up bag. Mine never seem to last long so I’m always looking for a new one with cute wild colors like that! Love!

  4. Someday, I will learn to use a sewing machine! Until then, I will read your posts and be envious.

  5. Thank you everyone for your sweet compliments! And thanks for reading…it means a lot to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

