Make-Up Pouch Tutorial and Vintage Patterns

Here is the process for the make-up pouch I made for Christmas gifts.

Materials: fabric, lining, 6” zipper

Create a pattern according to the measurements you’d like. I wanted these pouches to be wider on the bottom than on the top and rounded. I also added darts to each bottom corner so that the pouches will stand up when things are in them.

All you need to do is sketch the shape of one side of the pouch, since it needs to be symmetrical and the pattern piece will be placed on the fold. Sketch it according to your desired measurements, smoothing the rounded corners with a French curve, and mark where you’d like the darts to be placed.

I revised my pattern a few times to get it just right. The picture below is before I’d determined the best location for the dart. When I found the right spot, I added a little dot about an inch from the seam allowance to indicate where the corners of the dart would be.

Choose a fabric and a coordinating lining fabric.

Cut two each of the pouch fabric and lining fabric. Cut two squares for the end of the zipper tape, and a rectangle of whatever size you’d like, to create the handle. Cut two pieces of medium weight fusible interfacing with the pattern. Fuse the interfacing to the wrong side of each piece of pouch fabric.

Create the little handle by pressing the rectangle strip like bias tape, and sew it together.

Recycled zipper

You will need a 6” zipper, or you can shorten a recycled zipper. I did this for several of these pouches. To shorten a zipper, zig-zag stitch across the zipper coil at the desired length (in this case 6”) and cut the bottom of the zipper off.

Sew a fabric square to the zipper tape above the zipper pull and below the zipper stop. Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of this step. I revised my process as I went. So, I didn’t add this step until I had already pinned things together. You will see (I’ll point it out) in a later picture where the squares were added, and how it gives the pouch a much cleaner appearance.

Pin one side of the pouch and lining, right sides together, with one side of the zipper tape between them.

The zipper pull should be facing the right side of the pouch fabric, as shown in the picture below.

On each side of the pouch, iron the seam allowance down. Place the lining to the opposite side, and topstitch on the pouch fabric along the zipper coil. Use your zipper foot for this, so that you can get as close to the zipper teeth as possible.You should only be sewing through the pouch fabric and the seam allowance. Turn the lining back and press.

The picture below shows how the pouch looks before (left) and after (right) the topstitching. You can also see where a fabric square was added to the end of the zipper tape.

Open the zipper, pin the pouch fabric right sides together and the lining right sides together.  Pin the little handle into the seam allowance on one side, near the top of the pouch. Sew around the edge of the lining and pouch fabric. Be sure the zipper tape is folded the same way when you sew over it on each side. Leave an opening at one side of the lining to turn the pouch right side out.

Trim the seam allowance, and add the darts to the pouch and lining where marked.

At this point, the pouch should look something like this.

Press the pouch, and pull it right side out.

Sew up the opening in the lining by hand, adding a tag if desired. You’re done!

Road Trip Reading and Vintage Patterns

I wanted to share some pictures from a book I was reading during our drive over here. It’s a book about designing clothing and creating patterns.

As you can see from the pictures, the book is from the 70s.

It has a lot of information about different types of fabrics and laces (what they’re made from, how they’re made, and even some history about them).

The book also discusses techniques, like moving darts.

I was inspired by some of the designs discussed in the book, like the one below.

Just before we left California, I also received the patterns below from my aunt. I am always delighted to find or receive vintage patterns, and this was no exception.

I’ll have to plan some pieces for my spring wardrobe using a few of these. I especially love the one on the top left.

There were also these pages from what appears to have been a mail order catalog from the 40s.

I love the shape of these dresses, and I may attempt to duplicate several of the necklines in the future.

Into the inspiration notebook they go!

First I need to finish some winter pieces that have fallen by the wayside. 😮

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in accessories, bag, dress, fabric, pattern, purse, retro, sewing, vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make-Up Pouch Tutorial and Vintage Patterns

  1. Trudy Callan says:

    Great tutorial. Thanks so much for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

