Teal or Burgundy/Magenta?

Where did this month go? At the start of the month, I was very optimistic about all of the projects I would get done. Now October is half over and I haven’t even made a scratch in my to-do list, let alone the significant dent I was hoping for.

I have a lot of works in progress at the moment. So, I thought I’d post a picture of something I’m working on, to whet your appetite for future posts. Here is part of a reconstruction project in progress.

 

The material is a white-"ish" and tan houndstooth

 

The cropped vest pattern is my own design. I’ll show you where the material originated and why I chose this design, when I finish the project.

At the moment, I have a question to pose.

Pictured below are the two colors I’m thinking of using for the lining. Whichever color I use for the lining, I will probably use to make a blouse to wear underneath the vest as well. (The colors are a bit different and brighter than they appear in the picture. The blue one is more of a teal color, and the other is a cross between burgundy and magenta.)

 

Both of these fabrics are thrift store finds. 🙂 One of them was in that huge bag I got a while ago for $ 2

 

So, to anyone reading this: which of the two colors do you like best? Oh, and please don’t say, “Neither,” because it may prompt me to go cry in a corner (Yes, it has been that kind of day).

I’m leaning one direction already, and whatever you say probably won’t change my mind…but hey, you never know.

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in clothing, diy, fabric, recycled, repurposed, retro, sewing, thrifted, upcycled, vest, vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Teal or Burgundy/Magenta?

  1. Definitely Teal–my vote.

  2. Sarah Haag says:

    Teal, fo sho 🙂

  3. Michelle Laffoon says:

    I like the teal.

  4. Candy says:

    I’d go with the Teal.

  5. Sarah Lewis says:

    I love the color red in whatever shade you can get it so I’m voting for burgundy!! ❤

  6. Despite the fact that teal is my fave colour I’m going to say burgundy!

  7. Fabi says:

    Burguandy!!!

  8. Tilly says:

    I think the teal goes better with the houndstooth. I love burgundy though – but you can save that for another project!

  9. Janelle says:

    Pink…always pink!

  10. laura says:

    Teal it is! From Romania with love (your dresses)!

  11. that’s a tough one because I naturally am drawn to teal, but that burgundy is a beautiful shade too.

  12. Micki says:

    Teal for me, but it really depends on what color is best on you! And I fully can relate to projects I thought would be done, that I’ve not begun. Hang in there!

  13. Thank you everyone for your input! 🙂 I really was having a hard time choosing, because I thought both of the colors would’ve added to the vest. I chose the teal, but the burgundy will definitely be back for another project.

Leave a Reply

