Stormy Weather Cardigan

I needed a break from the reconstructions from my closet, so I have two thrift store finds for the next two posts.

The first project was this weird two-in-one sweater/cardigan thingy.

The sweater was horribly unflattering in the state I found it, but I loved the soft, warm material and the pattern.

My plan was to turn it into a basic cardigan. So, the first step was to remove the faux undershirt piece.

Once I began this procedure, I discovered the project was going to require a bit more work than I’d anticipated. All of the pieces were connected at the shoulder, armhole and side seams.

At first, this seemed like an annoyance. But, I thought about it some more and concluded that taking the sweater completely apart would allow me to create a better fit.

The back piece, front pieces and sleeves detached from one another

I knew that I wanted it to fit snugger at the sides and in the sleeves. Originally I was simply going to sew the new side seam all the way up the sleeve, without making any shape/fit adjustments. However, to make it look more professional, I decided to reshape the armholes and shoulder seams.

Cutting a couple inches from each side, in preparation for reshaping the armholes and creating new shoulder seams

I also adjusted the sleeves.

Lining the sleeve up with the new armhole to determine what shape and size the new sleeve should be

I sewed the shoulder seams and reattached the smaller sleeves. Then, I stitched the new side seams, from the bottom of the cardigan to the wrists of the sleeves.

Almost complete

Using the strip scraps from one side of the sweater, I created a little bow to add below the shoulder on one side of the cardigan.

It's bow-time!

Once I attached the bow, the “Stormy Weather Cardigan” was ready for a stormy day.

Minus the sequins (which is the way I like it), this cardigan from Modcloth is pretty similar to my thrifted cardigan.

I’ve been looking for a nice grey cardigan for a while. The color is very versatile, and the little bow makes the outfit fun.

Instead of $43 plus shipping, I paid $1, some thread and time. Needless to say, I’m a happy girl.

I’m also ecstatic about the cooler temperatures that have finally made an appearance here in SoCal. So, I actually got to wear this ensemble to the grocery store today. Well, sort of… I didn’t actually wear the cardigan. I still have the blood of an Idahoan, and 60˚ is not cool enough for me to wear a cardigan. But, I did have it just in case I needed it. 😉

I even had my first Pumpkin Spice Latte of the season in celebration of the hint of fall.

Update:

Both of my entries into the Burdastyle remake contest made it into the top 50. Now, the winner will be chosen by member voting. There are a lot of fabulous entries. If you have a chance, take a look at all of the creativity. My entries are #2 and #36 in the photo slide-show.

Here’s a link to the slide-show: http://burdastyle.com/albums/186/images?page=36&size=small

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in cardigan, clothing, diy, ooak, recycled, retro, sewing, sweater, thrifted, upcycled, vintage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stormy Weather Cardigan

  1. Love it! I love refitting/upcycling projects from thrift store finds better than any kind of project. 🙂

  2. Laurie Laffoon says:

    It is really cute! I really love the little bow!

  3. frk.bustad says:

    That’s such a great upcycling! I adore your new cardigan! I going straight to a charity shop now…

Leave a Reply

