Make ‘Em Green With Envy Jacket

My second reconstruction project for the “Remake Challenge,” started as the dress below.

It was extremely wrinkled because it's been packed away in one of those space saving bags.

It was extremely wrinkled because it's been packed away in one of those space saving bags.

I wanted to turn it into a short-sleeved jacket.

The first step was taking it completely apart.

I had to separate everything, including the lining.

I planned to use a portion of the skirt to make the bottom of the jacket.

Cutting the skirt

The back of the skirt would become the front of the jacket; therefore I needed to cut down the front of the bodice.

Cutting the front of the bodice

I measured and cut the bottom front of the jacket (which was the back of the skirt, where the zipper was), so that the side seams of the top and bottom half would match, once darts were added.

I measured and pinned darts (essentially new seams) for the bottom front and back of the coat, and attached a strip to the back of the bodice where the zipper once was (in order to add extra room to the jacket). Wow, way too many parenthesis going on in this post. 😛

Pinnning new seams for the bottom half of the jacket

My plan was to add a button placket all of the way down the front.

Here are the pieces of my design roughly placed next to each other.

I also cut the sleeves shorter. They were uneven because of their previous lives as bubble-puff sleeves.

I measured and cut the strips for the button placket from the remaining portion of the skirt, and cut some interfacing as well.

I laid the pieces together,

And pinned them one by one,

Unaware of the pending quandary

For which nothing could be done.

(Space)

I discovered there was trouble:

A problem I didn’t catch.

Green thread everywhere,

But not a green would match.

I bought a huge bag of thread at a garage sale, and this is only about half of the green thread I now have.

On my hands and knees I searched

Through every inch of my stash

Finding every shade of green,

Finding every shade would clash.

These are three different shades. The color variance is slight, and yet each one is slightly off in a different way (one’s too dark, one’s too light, and one’s too bright).

OK, enough with the goofy poem. It wasn’t that dramatic, but I was frustrated because I would need to do some top-stitching on the jacket. I just settled for the closest shade, and went for it.

After sewing and pressing the darts, and attaching the strip to the back of the bodice, I pinned the top and bottom pieces of the jacket together. I would re-sew the side seams after attaching these pieces.

Attaching the pieces

I sewed the side seams and ironed all of the seams open, creating crisp, clean lines.

Before I could attach the rest of the jacket, I had to re-sew the lining to match. It was extremely wrinkly, so I had to iron it for about ten minutes before I could do anything. However, once it was ironed I was able to cut into it, and create a lining similar to the shape of my jacket.

Pinning the lining and jacket together at the neckline, right sides together.

I attached the placket for the button holes on the right side, and the one for the buttons on the left, making sure the edge of the lining was also encased along the seam.

I had a ridiculous amount of trouble with the buttonholes, so I had to tweak my plans again. I decided to add just three buttonholes, and attach three buttons on one placket, and three on the other, like so…

The next step was to finish the neckline. I made a little inverted pleat at the back of the jacket, and sewed around the neckline. I then added a bit of trim from the original button placket on the dress.

I finished the sleeves, and finally, sewed the new hemline.

So, here’s the dress-turned-jacket.

Though I would’ve made it long sleeves if I’d had more skirt to work with, I really like the look of it. It’s a good jacket for fall here in the desert, because I can wear long sleeves underneath on days that are cooler, but still feel comfortable wearing it on days that are slightly warmer.

It is also loose enough that if I wanted to I could wear bulky sweaters under it.

And, since it’s been  a while, here’s a picture with Newton in it. 😉

While I won’t be able to get anything else done for the contest, I am continuing with the reconstruction of the items from my closet. So, here’s a glimpse at the progress of the next reconstruction project…

It was a jacket before my seam ripper dug into it.

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in clothing, diy, dress, indie, jacket, recycled, repurposed, sewing, upcycled and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Make ‘Em Green With Envy Jacket

  1. modelly says:

    The jacket looks really amazing! It seems like you are very talented!

  2. Laurie Laffoon says:

    Love it! And I love the poem! But where was the French…? I need practice reading it!

  3. lindsay says:

    Very cute alteration! The jacket looks so nicely tailored, it kind of reminds me of a chef coat, but perfectly feminine and stylish.

  4. You are so clever….love the green jacket with the black shirt underneath it!
    Jana

    • Thank you. You are such a sweetheart 🙂 I wish I would’ve had enough to material to create long sleeves, but alas, it wasn’t meant to be. I’ll just have to stick to layering.

Leave a Reply

