Epiphany Skirt

This morning’s project commenced with what looked like an extremely tall man’s dress shirt.

With the belt it’s not quite as bad…Who am I kidding? Of course it’s just as bad!

Check it out without the belt! Hot stuff, huh?

Perhaps, the tallest man in the Guinness Book of World Records had a similar shirt in his wardrobe. Well, probably not, since he lived from 1918-1940, and not in the 1970s.

This one really challenged my ingenuity. It took me a long period of staring at it hanging in front of me before anything started to happen in my mind. I often stare at a piece and start pinning it in places to try to envision its potential.

A glimpse into one of my creative processes

Once I had an idea of where I was going with the dress, I started slicing into it.

Cutting the sleeves off

I separated the top and bottom halves off the dress. I planned on creating a new dress from it.

Once I separated the top and bottom though, I realized I’d made a mistake in my measurement calculations for the skirt, and I was forced to form a new plan of attack.

Skirt and bodice separated

I grabbed a few other materials and got to work turning the pieces into two different garments: a top and a skirt.

Some pieces of the puzzle

Since I’ve been overly excited about two ongoing sewing and design contests (which I will post about soon) I didn’t complete both of the pieces today. So, I will have to include the top in my next post.

For the skirt, I utilized another piece given to me by my grandmother (from her sister again—thank you!). I cut off the very bottom of the black skirt, below the zipper to use for the skirt.

Gotta love the free material. Yay!)

I used the bottom of the shirt dress to create a waistband for the skirt.

Creating the waistband

I made an elastic casing and prepared to add buttonholes to the front, in order to add the sash from the dress into the casing.

Pins where the buttonholes will go

The sash wasn’t the length of my liking, so I added a piece from the bottom of the shirt dress to elongate it.

Elongation almost complete

Having the sash would accomplish two things: block the elastic from view through the thin waistband material, and add extra cuteness.

Luckily, I have an automatic buttonhole foot and one-step automatic buttonhole option on my machine, so adding the buttonholes was ridiculously easy. Interfacing was an absolute necessity to reinforce the buttonholes, as the material was extremely lightweight.

The buttonholes from the inside of the waistband

I then attached the skirt and the waistband, leaving an opening for the elastic and the sash.

I didn’t have any more 1” elastic, so I had to salvage some ¾” elastic from another skirt given to me to recycle. Normally I wouldn’t use elastic from an old garment, because it often loses its elasticity, but in this case the elastic was plenty stretchy.

Robbing the old skirt of its elastic

I inserted the elastic and sash into the new skirt’s casing.

Sash through

I just put the elastic in temporarily, because it is not the size that I want or need. So, I will just replace it when I get some.

I was not feeling well this afternoon, and my face was a sad sight. So, no smiling face today. ;P

Closer- I apologize for my inability to tie a proper bow.

This morning I changed up my exercise routine and went for a run. We have some hills in the desert behind our house, with lots of trails. I haven’t gone trail running since I was in high school cross country, and I’d forgotten how much I enjoy it. Somewhere between the sleep deprivation and the flaming sensation in my throat from last night’s spicy buffalo wings, an epiphany emerged.

It’s a personal epiphany that honestly will make no sense to anyone, so I won’t bore you with details. However, as a result of all of this pain and suffering, I came upon a title for the spawn of the tall man’s shirt.

Below is a picture of a basket that I found beside one of the trails. That is one thing that I miss about the desert, I always find interesting things to salvage when I’m out running. I’m a sucker for baskets, so I decided to run with it the whole way home.

The gift basket still had a bow on it. I plan on painting it and making it into a plant holder or something. I'm not quite sure yet.

When I found my way back into civilization, I imagined it was probably a pretty amusing sight. The basket was about 1/3 my height.

Yes, I got some strange looks and even a few drive-by-point-and-laughs.

And no, I did not care.

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in clothing, diy, ooak, recycled, repurposed, retro, sewing, thrifted, upcycled, vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Epiphany Skirt

  1. Ashley says:

    I just love all of your posts!! I actually look forward to my, alomost daily, emails! Can’t wait to see what creation you will do next. The basket story has been my favorate story so far, although I did enjoy the car you and Alex drove by when in LA… Funny!! You do amazing work, and your posts always make me smile 🙂
    Ashley Hunter

    • Awww! Thanks so much! I’m so glad to hear that somebody enjoys reading my silly little anecdotes. Haha! It makes me smile that the posts make you smile. 🙂 Thanks again for reading, and your lovely comment!

  2. Trudy Callan says:

    Cute skirt. I loved seeing a part of your creative process.

    Trudy
    http://www.sewingwithtrudy.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

