Grey Gardens Dress and Triangle Trail Dress

There are two dresses in this post. So, be sure to keep reading to see the second. 🙂

The first dress was inspired by another dress.

ModCloth Dress

I had this picture of a dress from ModCloth saved to my desktop.

It was a while ago, so I can’t find it on their website now. Anyway, I had saved it to my desktop because I wanted to make a dress like it, with the fabric below.

Floral goodness

That fabric would’ve been absolutely perfect for mimicking the look of the ModCloth dress, but unfortunately I didn’t have quite enough of that fabric (I’d used some of it for another project since). So, I chose this fabric instead.

It is a grey knit fabric with little pink roses.

I was eventually going to draft my own pattern for the dress. Then, I found a vintage pattern in a box that my grandmother gave to me last weekend (Thanks a million times over!). The resemblance to the ModCloth dress is amazing!

I was elated about this find!

I know, the armholes and neckline are slightly different…but I actually liked the pattern better, so we were golden!

I decided to go the “no zipper” route as well, so changes had to be made to that part of the pattern. I wanted the dress to be as loose and “flowy” as possible, but I had to adjust each piece a little because it was a tad too big. I also made the tab shorter and made the edges straight rather than pointed; it would look better because of the stretch.

The other concern was the length, because the shorter version was still longer than necessary.

Patterned shortened, with the side seam adjusted

I made sure that the front, back and underarm pieces were all shortened in the same place and that the new seam lines matched.

I then cut out to the button tab.

The button tab cut out, before I decided to make the edges straight.

After the pieces were cut out, it was time to park myself at the sewing machine. I sewed up the pieces, serged the seams, and finished all of the edges. Then I gave it a blind hem, because I love how clean blind hems look on knits.

Sewing up the pieces

The finished product does look something like a dress you might buy from ModCloth (except MUCH longer than most of their dresses—they are almost all mini-length).

Grey Gardens Dress

I am happy with the result, but I just don’t think the style suits me very well. The dress is still a bit big for my taste—it fits more like something between a medium and small.

With a long sleeve shirt underneath and some tights, it’ll be perfect for the cooler weather ahead.

I received a request for a pic of the back of the dress. So here it is.

The second dress for today was created with recycled and new materials.

Triangle Trail Dress

The top of the dress was part of a clearance dress I’d ordered from ModCloth months ago. I didn’t like the way it fit. Honestly, most women probably would have found the fit unflattering, hence the reason it was so inexpensive. So, I decided I’d use it to make other things (because I was in love with the print).

I had cut some of it apart to make something with it, but forgot what my plans were for it. Anyway, I didn’t find all of the pieces, but the pieces I did find, I used to create the dress.

There was lining on the inside of the bodice piece, to which I attached the green sleeves to create a faux layered look.

I had previously cut some little rectangles out of the dress (again, I have no idea what for), and I sewed those together and folded them to create the accent hem along the bottom of the dress.

Better view of the Triangle Trail

It can be worn with a little ribbon through the belt loops or with a cute vintage belt. There is a lot of room in this dress, because I didn’t add any elastic. I may add some in the future, but I like how the gathering looks without the elastic.

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in clothing, diy, dress, fabric, indie, recycled, repurposed, retro, sewing, vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Grey Gardens Dress and Triangle Trail Dress

  1. Aunt Anne says:

    I like that top dress, Rebecca. You look darling in it!

  2. Fabi says:

    I love the first dress, you did an amazing job. Super girlie!

  3. Fabi says:

    Also, would you be willing to put a picture of the back of the dress. Thanks

  4. Trudy Callan says:

    These are both beautiful dresses. The first one is my favorite. I think that’s my favorite dress you’ve ever made actually.
    Trudy
    http://www.sewingwithtrudy.blogspot.com

  5. MsBnTntWds says:

    Love the Grey Gardens dress!!! Very elegant! Add a big floppy hat and some shades and you will be looking very sophisticated and sexy!!! Great job!

  6. mirashaza says:

    you’re brilliant!

  7. lasandrou says:

    I love your grey gardens dress ! I made it a while ago (http://lasandrou.blogspot.com/2009/10/robe-vintage-simplicity-6672.html) but it turn to be a muslin as I made some mistakes. I like how you made your tab, you did a great job !! You make me want to sew this dress again 🙂

Leave a Reply

