The Little Mermaid Dress

I made this dress for my sister Ashley. It’s a M/L, so it doesn’t fit me quite right. I just haven’t had a chance to give it to her, and take a picture of her wearing it.

The Little Mermaid Dress

It was made in the same vein as the dress below, which I recently sold on Etsy. I made the dress using new and recycled materials. The skirt was a vintage skirt, and I made the bodice. It has a sweet little ruffle and is lined, with elastic along the top for fit.

Verity Dots and Ruffles Dress

Ashley asked me to make a dress to match this jewelry set that she got as a graduation gift.

Green and peachy-pink jewelry

So, I found some fabrics that matched, and went to work drafting this pattern in her size. I used a fabric that wasn’t stiff for the ruffles so that they would drape randomly, instead of sticking up.

The blue dress already reminded me of a mermaid, but the same design in the green and the peachy pink made the connection undeniable.

It also reminds me of Strawberry Shortcake

I know, Ariel wore a purple shell bra, but the dress still bears a resemblance to a mermaid.

I thought I’d let you in on a little secret about me, I am a devoted fan of The Little Mermaid (and always have been).

Ariel was my favorite Disney princess when I was younger. My parents may, or may not have footage of me “ahahahing” that song she sang for Ursula (which, I foresee, will soon go missing under mysterious circumstances. ;))

The Little Mermaid was my favorite movie, and it remains my favorite Disney film. My favorite mug is even a Little Mermaid mug.

The legendary Little Mermaid mug. I protect this thing with my life.

I got a mug like this from Disneyland when I was younger. It made it through most of my young life, and then, tragically, someone in my family broke it about three years ago. I was devastated. It was a relic of my childhood. (OK. So, I still cherished the mug up until it broke—I was 20 years old). I knew I’d never have one like it again, since I’d gotten it at Disneyland over a decade ago.

Then, one magical day, I was shopping on eBay, when I remembered this mug. I was curious, so I began sifting through Little Mermaid mug after Little Mermaid mug, until…I found it! It was the exact same mug. The package came a few days later, and at last I was at peace.

And that, my friends, is one of the many reasons why I love eBay.

Oh, yeah, and the culprit of the cup crushing crime never did own up to it. If you are reading this Destroyer of Mugs (a.k.a. one of my sisters), speak now! You don’t want to carry the guilt of this heinous act to the grave.

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in clothing, diy, dress, retro, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Little Mermaid Dress

  1. Laurie Laffoon says:

    I promise! it wasn’t me!

Leave a Reply

