Why buy it, when I can sew it?

I have discovered that the only reason I go shopping anymore is to check out the trends, and get inspiration. I don’t think I have bought a new article of clothing from the store in at least 6 months. I always look at something I like and say to myself, “Hey I can make that!” Not only that, but I can make it my own, meaning that nobody will have the same dress or shirt as me.

So, the most recent of my creations with that “why buy it, when I can sew it?” sentiment in mind, was this dress.

I designed the dress after a few different ones that I saw and fell in love with. I made quite a few changes to suit my own needs and creativity, and I am extremely happy with it (defintely more so than I would’ve been with a dress from the store).

This dress is especially fun because I can wear it right now, but it will also be great for the fall. The material is fairly thick, almost sweatshirt-like. I love cowls, so I gave it an oversized split cowl.

I also adore gigantic buttons. I made the buttons by taking apart some vintage buttons I had, and re-covering them with my own fabric to match the sash.

I have plans to make this dress in several different colors and slightly different styles for my etsy shop, but this one is all mine. 🙂

About Becca

I am a self-taught seamstress, and I love to create unique women’s clothing. This blog is a record of the hodgepodge of sewing projects that occupy my time. Reconstruction projects are my favorite, but I also create clothing from my own designs using both recycled and new materials.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why buy it, when I can sew it?

  1. Trudy Callan says:

    I love it! It looks comfy and stylish. I like the split cowl.

  2. delaïdo says:

    This is so cute! I love the cowl. It looks great on you.

  3. Becca Burt says:

    Thanks so much! This is one of my favorite new dresses.

  4. Aunt Anne says:

    One of my favorite sayings thru the years has been “I could make that and much cheaper!” We ARE related!!

Leave a Reply

